VIU summer sessions

Dates and Deadlines

May Term

  • May 2 (Monday): First day of classes.
  • May 3 (Tuesday): Last day of active waitlists.
  • May 3 (Tuesday): Last day to drop a course without having to fully pay for it. Students who completely withdraw from all courses on or before this date will be assessed a fee of $200.
  • May 4 (Wednesday): May term fees due.
  • May 23 (Monday): Victoria Day, University closed.
  • May 31 (Tuesday): Students with fees owing will be deregistered from courses.
  • June 10 (Friday): Last day for academic penalty-free withdrawal from the May term courses, or to change from credit to audit (or vice-versa).
  • June 17 (Friday): Last day of classes.
  • June 24 (Friday): Final May term grades due.

June Term

  • June 20 (Monday): First day of classes.
  • June 21 (Tuesday): Last day of active waitlist.
  • June 21 (Tuesday): Last day to drop a course without having to fully pay for it. Students who completely withdraw from all courses on or before this date will be assessed a fee of $200.
  • June 22 (Wednesday): June term fees due.
  • July 1 (Friday): Canada Day, University closed.
  • July 19 (Tuesday): Students with fees owing will be deregistered from courses.
  • July 29 (Friday): Last day for academic penalty-free withdrawal from the June term courses, or to change from credit to audit (or vice-versa).
  • July 29 (Friday): Last day for academic penalty-free withdrawal from 14-week courses that started in May.
  • August 1 (Monday): BC Day, University closed.
  • August 5 (Friday): Last day of classes for the June term and 14-week courses of Summer Session.
  • August 12 (Friday): Final June and 14-week courses of Summer Session grades due.