Dominion Provincial Youth Training Centre

People: 1960 - 1969

College Head Appointed

"College Head Appointed"

Dr. Carl Opgaard was appointed as the first president of Malaspina Regional College in Jan. 1969.
Article courtesy of Victoria BC's Daily Colonist

Iowan Given Post

"Iowan Given Post"

Hagbarth Sorenson was appointed to the post of Malaspina College's humanities coordinator in June 1969.
Article courtesy of Victoria BC's Daily Colonist

Malaspina College Evening Courses

"Technical Director and Office Employees"

New instructors and and staff join Malaspina College: Ralph Vernon (math), David C. Kerridge (biology), Anne Patti (office), Margaret Hawco (office), Maxine Zurbrigg (office), Shirley MacMillan (office), and Dr. B. Whittles (director of technical program development).
Images and articles courtesy of Nanaimo Daily Free Press, Sept. 4, 1969

Malaspina College Principal Chosen

"Malaspina College Principal Chosen"

Dr. George Wooton was named principal and Oliver Neaves was appointed secretary-treasurer for the new Malaspina College.
Appointments were announced by College Council Chairman Jack Whitlam.
Article courtesy of Victoria BC's Daily Colonist, Sept. 1969